Book review: Cress by Marissa Meyer

Cress is the third book in the Lunar Chronicles series. It is a sci-fi fairytale retelling of Rapunzel. I can’t go into plot because of spoilers, but please read this series! It’s fantastic. Now I will be getting into the review and spoilers!

I’m going to start with characters. Starting with our new heroine, Cress. I loved her! She was a great addition to the story for me. I love all three of the main girls in the series: Cinder, Scarlet, and Cress. I think my favorite has to be Cress. (And I love Iko!)

We start out with a timid, geeky Cress who has never been to earth. She is in her satellite working for Sybil Mira, who is working for Queen Levana. Cress has been secretly helping cloak the Rampion to keep Linh Cinder and her crew safe. I loved this! I thought it was so cute that Cress had “sided” with the Earthens. Who wouldn’t after working for the queen and Sybil?

When Cress makes contact with the crew, they make a plan to come rescue Cress. Of course, things go awry. The crew gets separated. Scarlet gets taken and put on a ship, forced to pilot that ship to Luna. Thorne and Cress are stranded in the satellite (yay!!). Cinder and Wolf stay in the ship, but they gain an extra crew member: Jacin Clay, guard of Sybil Mira.

So Cress and Thorne (blind from his head trauma) get stranded in the desert together. I love that conversation where Cress is like “I don’t want to die without being kissed” and Thorne is all “I won’t let that happen” *swoons*

When they met those people, I just had a feeling that they were sketchy. I was internally screaming when Cress got kidnapped! But they take her to HER FATHER?! Dr.Erland!!!!!!!?!!?!?!?!

I loved the crazy reunion between the crew. It was so intricate, and fit together so well. It was amazing! Marissa Meyer continues to impress me.

Now I’ll skip to the crazy plan to stop the wedding. Everything goes well…too well. They get to their ship and Sybil Mira is there with her six guards at the ready. The full on battle happens, and amid the fighting, CRESS AND THORNE KISS my babies kiss! I love them together so much. It was so adorable.

Sybil had control of Wolf, so Cinder saw the opportunity to go in and try to get control of Sybil. It worked! Cinder literally drove Sybil crazy. I get Cinder’s feelings of guilt for it, but I’m glad it happened.

So the Lunars made the disease!  And Dr. Erland died! I’m still so sad. I’m glad he was able to pass on the information to the crew though. That would’ve been frustrating. But wow. The Lunars are evil. Well, Levana and her family are evil. Things are going to get crazy in the last book!!!

AND WHEN CINDER AND KAI KISSED FEELS AWWWWW

AND IKO! I LOVE HER SO CUTE SO CUTE.

I loved this book so much. 5/5 stars. Highly recommend.

Leave a Reply

