Review: Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo

I just finished reading Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo. For the most part, I liked it. I started out LOVING it, but 3/4 into the book, it just fell a little flat for me.

Processed with VSCO with t1 preset

PROS:

i’ll start at the beginning (shocker). i thought Bardugo did a good job of getting us acquainted with the world. i never felt lost or had no idea what was going on. that’s always something i look for in fantasy books. i don’t like being thrown into the middle of the world and not being able to figure out what’s going on until the last half of the book.

the pace. i thought the action was paced well. i also liked the amount of dialogue in the book.

CONS:

the characters. this is so sad…but i don’t really care about any of them! what’s really important to me in a book is my connection to the characters. sitting here right now, i’m not dying to get my hands on the next book and find out what happens. my connection to the characters Β (or lack of one) is what made the book fall flat for me.

DISCUSSION

i guess i ship alina and mal. i definitely don’t ship alina and the darkling. but alina and mal don’t give me all the feels.

so many people love the darkling, and as of right now i don’t understand that. maybe that will change in the next books, but he is so evil.

i know this wasn’t the most positive review, but i do plan to continue on with the series. it just isn’t a priority.

RATING:

3/5 stars. good, not great.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. I’ve read about 20 pages of the book and I couldn’t grasp what the story was going to be about. I think I’ll have the same opinion on the book as you if I read it! Anyway, great review! πŸ˜€

    Like

    1. Liz Richter says:

      Thank you so much! Yeah the book was good, but I just didn’t feel a connection to the characters. 😦

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

